Mayor Tom Henry wins Democratic spot in primary race

Mayor Henry has been in office 12 years.

Posted: May 7, 2019 11:23 PM
Updated: May 8, 2019 8:39 AM

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WFFT) - For the democrats there were two people who never held office running against someone who has been in office 12 years.

Candidates Gina Burgess and Tommy Schrader ran against Mayor Henry.

Final Election Results - Fort Wayne Mayor (D)

  • Tom Henry - 6,797
  • Gina Burgess - 875
  • Tommy Schrader - 216

Henry's goal this year was to not only gain a 4th term but to carry out projects currently happening, begin new ones, and finish some this year.

His goal ultimately has been to see them through.

Some of the projects in the works during his leadership include downtown development with projects such as The Riverfront to Ash Skyline Plaza, Cityscape Flats and The Landing, and investing in Neighborhood Infrastructure.

Henry beat his challengers with 86% of the votes.

For more election results, click here.

Article Comments

Fort Wayne
Few Clouds
34° wxIcon
Hi: 67° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 34°
37° wxIcon
Hi: 64° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 37°
34° wxIcon
Hi: 67° Lo: 44°
Feels Like: 34°
32° wxIcon
Hi: 68° Lo: 46°
Feels Like: 32°
Van Wert
32° wxIcon
Hi: 67° Lo: 46°
Feels Like: 32°
Warmer Saturday
WFFT Radar
WFFT Temperatures
WFFT National

Community Events